A collection of noisy, fun, cool, geeky, techy, wired or just plain wierd stuff for your consideration!

Processing (My first sketch!)


In the lesson plan for Creative Music Computing 2b there is mention of a program called Processing. I decided to download this program and give it a try.

The website http://processing.org/ describes it as such: ‘Processing is an open source programming language and environment for people who want to create images, animations, and interactions.’

For my first attempt I realise that the code is rather messy and there must be many ways in which I can improve it (I have been trying to teach myself from tutorials and forums). My idea was based on a very nice screensaver that I stumbled across called ‘Fractal Clock’ ( free to download from http://www.dqd.com/~mayoff/programs/FractalClock/). I wanted to produce similar visuals but also allow for dots to be drawn on screen which , whenever hit/crossed by a line would play a tone. However once I started coding I came up against many problems, which I am still trying to solve. So I decided to play around with the code that I had already written, and managed to produce a rather nice visual animation. By reducing the transparancy of the lines and not redrawing the background on each frame the animation creates a rather pleasing set of sweeps and arcs. I added code to change the colour of the lines drawn by clicking and holding either the left or right mouse button. I also added code so that a keyboard keypress would clear the image and allow the animation to continue on a clear background.
The animation/interaction can be seen here – http://www.openprocessing.org/visuals/?visualID=20177
and the source code is also available.

Leave a Reply

